About Our Movement
Our Mission is the Boys & Girls Club’s Reason for Being:
To enable all young people, especially those who need us most, to reach their full potential as productive, caring, and responsible citizens.
The Boys & Girls Club has changed much over the course of its long history, but what it provides to our youth has always remained the same: a safe place to learn and grow; ongoing relationships with caring, adult professionals; life-enhancing programs and character-development experiences; hope and opportunity.
Its History is a speaking testimony to this enduring philosophy.
The History of the Boys & Girls Club is a testament to its enduring legacy.
1970-Wayne residents form group and offer programs
1976-Wayne Clubhouse erected
1981-Wayne group charters with BGCA as Wayne Boys Club
1990-Wayne Boys Club changes name to Boys & Girls Club of Wayne
1993-Pequannock residents form group and offer programs
1995-Pequannock group purchases Pequannock School for Clubhouse
1998-Pequannock group charters with BGCA as Boys & Girls Club of Morris County
1998-Wayne Clubhouse expands
2004-Morris County’s Randall Athletic Complex is completed
2005-Wayne and Morris County Clubs enter Management Agreement
September 29, 2006-Merger complete, Boys & Girls Clubs of Northwest New Jersey formed
The Boys & Girls Clubs of Northwest New Jersey is committed to providing our youth a safe place to learn and grow. Each year, over 5,200 youth attend programs provided by one of our Clubs: Boys & Girls Clubs of Wayne and Boys & Girls Clubs of Pequannock.
Our staff, board and volunteers are committed to ensuring each member has a positive experience at the club. We strive to make sure they each receive high-quality educational and athletic programs; learn the importance of giving back to the community and become positive role models to their peers.
The mission of our Club is to enable all young people, especially those who need us most, to reach their full potential as productive, caring and responsible citizens. Through the hope and opportunity we provide, that mission is met each and every day.
Chief Professional Officer
About Our Clubs
The Wayne Boys Club was conceived in 1970 by a group of ten residents looking for better opportunities for youth in Wayne and surrounding townships. The group, led by Joseph DiDonato, was interested in programs and activities suitable for character, athletic, educational and social skill development.
The group offered programs in various locations until the current clubhouse was erected in 1976. The Club was officially chartered with the Boys & Girls Clubs of America in 1981, and nine years later changed their name to Boys & Girls Club of Wayne.
With the increase in membership, programs and special events, the clubhouse location was enlarged in 1998, creating a 36,000 square foot facility to include 2 full sized gymnasiums, 7 offices, 5 storage rooms, game room, 20 station technology center, kindergarten classroom and an all-purpose room used for Bingo and Club functions.
The Club continues to break new ground, while remaining committed to offering quality programs and activities based on concern for deserving youth. Plans are now being formed for a free standing Teen Center for 13 to 18 year old members, and the creation of a 6,200 square foot Early Education Center for 3 to 5 year old members.
In 1993 a group of concerned citizens in Pequannock united and made a proactive effort to better the future for youth in Northern New Jersey. With the help of local churches, schools, recreation departments and civic groups, they began providing programs that were rich in social, cultural, educational and recreational content.Boys & Girls Club of Pequannock.
Spurred by the vision of Founding President Mark Kosmack, the Boys & Girls Club of Morris County became a chartered member of Boys & Girls Clubs of America in January of 1998. Since the "grand opening" in May of 1998, the Boys & Girls Club of Morris County has attracted over 1,400 youth ages 6 - 18 as participants in an array of programs and activities.
In an effort to provide a state-of-the-art facility for its members, the Club embarked on a 3 phase major expansion plan in 1995 with the purchase of the Pequannock School. The Pequannock School's "old building" was erected in the late 1800's, with an addition completed in 1923. The "new building" was added in 1954 and the entire structure housed the Pequannock School through 1992, after which the facility remained vacant.
The Club embarked on Phase 1 of the facility development by refurbishing the "new building" to be used as the Boys & Girls Club facility, housing programs and activities for its members. Phase 2, the Randall Athletic Complex, was completed in 2004, and includes a junior-sized football field, regulation roller hockey rink, which converts to 2 basketball courts, and a utility sports field.
Plans are in the works for Phase 3, which includes demolition of the "old building" space and erecting a structure to include much needed gym space and classroom facilities.